Information about Yakki

How it works

How it works

Sign up

It is free to sign-up and use Yakki. Our base user plan is free and will always be free. Use email or facebook to sign-up. Once signed-up, validate your account and then update your profile


Your profile

Use your real name. Give a short description about yourself, your passions, your adventures, your achievements. Include a profile picture about yourself. This will help users have a clear understanding of who you are. Complete your payment details to enable bookings. *


User types

We support two user types within our community: travelers and hosts. Travelers are people who want to experience the outdoors in a new way. Hosts are passionate guides, enthusiastic professionals and local experts who love sharing their knowledge with travelers. If you would like to host your own activity, head over to Become a host where we explain what it means to be a host with Yakki.


Experiences

All experiences are designed and led by passionate guides, enthusiastic professionals and local experts. Yakki ensures the quality of all posted experiences and the identity of every registered host.


Certified professional

The "certified professional" badge is an additional recognition for the experiences hosted by a certified and diplomated host.


Price

The price of an experience is considered by day and size of the group.


Chat

You can contact the host at any time to request a personalized experience or to discuss any details.


Booking

You can book your desired experience directly on Yakki. Choose your experience, select the period and book. A chat system allows you to interact with the host. The money is charged only if the host accepts the booking. If the host refuses or does not take any action within 3 days, nothing is charged and the reservation is canceled.


Payment

You can pay using your Paypal account, any credit/debit card or your bank account.


Cancellation

We do not offer refunds for cancellations. However, you can negotiate with the host, reschedule your booking or pass it to a friend.


Reviews

After activities are completed, both parties are encouraged to provide feedback for each other. This is available publicly on the site in user profiles, which helps users build their reputation and trust. Either positive or negative, be fair with your comments and be constructive to the community.


Search

Yakki provides you with powerful search capabilities to find your next outdoor experience. You can search by location and activity, then filter the results with keywords and parameters.


Newsletter

We send you a weekly newsletter with the latest updates and goings on within Yakki. You can control your newsletter and other notification settings in your profile.




Host

Post your experiences in order to become visible to the Yakki community and the world. Make them unique to attract more travelers. You can post up to three experiences per category. Our team will verify every listing, assign the "certified professional" badge and improve it for you. *


Listing

    • Click on the + New experience button
    • Choose the experience type you want to promote
    • Start describing a unique experience
    • Add as much information as possible
    • Upload quality photos
    • Set the location on the map
    • Price: per day and group size. Enter a price for the number of participants you think you need. Enable the option "additional participants on request" to interact with travelers and eventually change the price and group size according to their needs. Remember that only one reservation per day can be accepted.
    • Personalized experience: if enabled, travelers can get in touch with you through the chat to request a change on the experience. You can change the price at any time or create a special experience to meet the needs of the traveler.
    • Publish

    Availability

      • Manage each listing's availability
      • Click on "Edit listing availability"
      • White slot = free = customers can book you
      • Grey slot = closed = customers can not book you

    Edit

      • You can change the experience at any time
      • Move to your profile
      • Select the listing you want to edit
      • Click on "Edit listing" to update any information

    Close

      • Select the listing you want to close
      • Click on "Close listing"

Booking

    • Travelers book and pay through the plaftorm
    • You have 3 days of time to accept or refuse a booking
    • If you accept, the payment will be validated and the money will be transferred to you within some days
    • If you refuse or do not perform any action, the booking will be canceled

Payment

    • Activate payments in your profile settings
    • Use bank account or Paypal (enable Paypal business first)



Transaction

How the PayPal payment flow works

The following steps occur in a paid transaction processed by PayPal:

      1. The host posts an experience and defines a price for the service.
      2. The traveller opens the experience page, selects dates and clicks on the "Book" button.
      3. On the following page, the traveller reviews the details of the purchase and clicks "Checkout with PayPal". They are taken to PayPal to complete the payment. If they don't complete the payment within 1 hour, the transaction attempt is closed.
      4. Once the payment is done, the traveller is taken to a page that displays the transaction details. They are told that the host needs to accept the transaction before the money is transferred.
      5. The host gets an email notification of a new transaction that needs to be accepted. If the transaction is not accepted within 3 days or before the end date (whatever comes first), the transaction is canceled and no money is transferred. Once accepted, the money (minus PayPal's payment processing fee) is transferred to the host's PayPal account. Both parties get a receipt of the transaction via email.
      6. For the service fee of Yakki, a second transaction is made automatically. The fee is moved from the host's PayPal account to Yakki's PayPal account.
      7. Both users can then discuss freely to agree on details.
      8. When the experience is finished, the traveller can mark the booking as completed.
      9. Users can then review each other.

How the Stripe payment flow works

The following steps occur in a paid transaction processed by Stripe:

      1. The host posts an experience and defines a price for the service.
      2. The traveller opens the experience page, selects dates (with end date up to 85 days from now) and clicks on the "Book" button.
      3. On the following page, the traveller reviews the details of the purchase and inputs their credit card details. The payment happens immediately.
      4. Once the payment is done, the traveller is taken to a page that displays the transaction details. They are told that the host needs to accept the transaction before the money is transferred.
      5. The host gets an email notification of a new transaction that needs to be accepted. If the transaction is not accepted within 3 days or before the end date (whatever comes first), the transaction is canceled and no money is transferred. Once accepted, the money is captured from the traveller card and funds are put on hold. Both parties get a receipt of the transaction via email.
      6. For the service fee of Yakki, the fee is scheduled to be paid to Yakki's bank account configured in Stripe. That payout will happen according to Stripe's schedule (about 5 to 10 business days).
      7. Both users can then discuss freely to agree on details.
      8. Traveller marks the booking as completed (experience is finished) or the booking is automatically marked as completed according to the admin settings. Money is then moved from the Stripe balance to the host account.
      9. Stripe transfers the money from the Stripe balance to the host bank account. Stripe takes about 7 days to move the money.
      10. Users can then review each other.



* It is forbidden to add any contact information and references to companies in your profile, listings and conversations. Only partners are allowed to include their business details. Any negligence will be reported and could cause a temporary ban from Yakki.